Queen's University

 

Our 2019-20 Season Schedule

 

While group and private instruction will follow particular schedules, all QCM instruction and events will operate within a general structure. The 2019/20 season is divided into 3 terms:

❖ Fall Term:

  • 13 weeks (Monday 9th September - Saturday 9th December, 2019)
  • Make up week: December 10th – 16th
  • Canada Music Week: November 22nd-24th
  • Sunday 15th December, 2019 - Solos and small ensembles Fall Term Concert. Three one-hour recitals feature students of all ages who take private lessons and chamber music instruction at Queen's Community Music. Free admission, donations gratefully accepted at the door.

❖ Winter Term:

  • 13 weeks (Monday 6th January - Saturday 4th April, 2020)
  • Make up week: April 5th - 11th (instructors electing not to teach during Queen's Reading Week (February 18th – 22nd) or March break (March 16th - 21st) should plan to use make up week).
  • Sunday 9th February, 2020 - Solos and small ensembles Winter Term/Kiwanis preparation Concert –Remove 11am, 12.30pm & 2pm. Three one-hour recitals feature students of all ages who take private lessons and chamber music instruction at Queen's Community Music. Free admission, donations gratefully accepted at the door.
  • Sunday 1st March, 2020- Yamaha Junior Original Compositions Concert. Students in the Yamaha Music Education System perform their own compositions! Student composers range in age from 7-12. Free admission.

❖ Spring Term:

  • 8 weeks (Monday 13th April - Saturday 6th June, 2020).
  • Make up weeks: June 8th – 20th
  • Sunday 31st May, 2020 - Solos and small ensembles Year End Concert. Three one-hour recitals feature students of all ages who take private lessons and chamber music instruction at Queen's Community Music. Free admission, donations gratefully accepted at the door.
  • Sunday 14th June, 2020 - Yamaha Year End Group Concert. Yamaha Music Education System Group Classes perform for family and friends. Free admission, donations gratefully accepted at the door.

Holidays

Queen's Community Music generally observes the following holiday periods. However, private instructors may schedule teaching during these times at their discretion, and group classes may run - please check course guides for group classes for specific schedule.

❖ Fall Term:

  • Thanksgiving (Sunday 6th and Monday 14th October, 2019)
  • Halloween (Thursday 31st October, 2019)
  • Christmas/New Year (Sunday 22nd December, 2019 - Sunday 5th January, 2020)

❖ Winter Term:

  • Family Day (Saturday 15th - Monday 17th February, 2020)
  • March break (Saturday 14th March - Friday 20th March, 2020)
  • Easter weekend (Friday 10th - Saturday 11th, April, 2020)

❖ Spring Term:

  • Victoria Day (Monday 18th May, 2020)

 

Unsure whether your class or lesson will take place on a particular date? Contact us!


 view all group instruction   |   view all private instruction  |   Season Schedule   |   events   | QCM policy   |   registration  |   payment options   |   FAQs   |   contact us