Queen's University

 

Our 2018-19 Season Schedule

 

While group and private instruction will follow particular schedules, all QCM instruction and events will operate within a general structure. The 2018/19 season is divided into 3 terms:

❖ Fall Term:

  • 13 weeks (Monday 10th September - Saturday 8th December, 2018)
  • Make up week: December 9th – 15th
  • Canada Music Week: November 16th-18th
  • Saturday 8th December, 2018 - Solos and small ensembles Fall Term Concert. Three one-hour recitals feature students of all ages who take private lessons and chamber music instruction at Queen's Community Music. Free admission, donations gratefully accepted at the door.

❖ Winter Term:

  • 13 weeks (Monday 7th January - Saturday 6th April, 2019)
  • Make up week: April 7th - 13th (instructors electing not to teach during Queen's Reading Week (February 18th – 22nd) or March break (March 11th -16th) should plan to use make up week).
  • Saturday 9th February, 2019 - Solos and small ensembles Winter Term/Kiwanis preparation Concert –Remove 11am, 12.30pm & 2pm. Three one-hour recitals feature students of all ages who take private lessons and chamber music instruction at Queen's Community Music. Free admission, donations gratefully accepted at the door.
  • Sunday 3rd March, 2019- Yamaha Junior Original Compositions Concert. Students in the Yamaha Music Education System perform their own compositions! Student composers range in age from 7-12. Free admission.

❖ Spring Term:

  • 8 weeks (Monday 15th April - Saturday 8th June, 2019).
  • Make up weeks: June 9th – 22nd
  • Sunday 9th June, 2019 - Solos and small ensembles Year End Concert. Three one-hour recitals feature students of all ages who take private lessons and chamber music instruction at Queen's Community Music. Free admission, donations gratefully accepted at the door.
  • Saturday 15 or Sunday 16th June, 2019 (TBD) - Yamaha Year End Group Concert. Yamaha Music Education System Group Classes perform for family and friends. Free admission, donations gratefully accepted at the door.

Holidays

Queen's Community Music generally observes the following holiday periods. However, private instructors may schedule teaching during these times at their discretion, and group classes may run - please check course guides for group classes for specific schedule.

❖ Fall Term:

  • Thanksgiving (Sunday 7th and Monday 8th October, 2018)
  • Christmas/New Year (Sunday 23rd December, 2018 - Sunday 6th January, 2019)

❖ Winter Term:

  • Family Day (Monday 18th February, 2019)
  • March break (Monday 11th March - Saturday 16th March, 2019)
  • Good Friday (Friday 19th April, 2019)

❖ Spring Term:

  • Victoria Day (Monday 20th May, 2019)

 

Unsure whether your class or lesson will take place on a particular date? Contact us!


 view all group instruction   |   view all private instruction  |   Season Schedule   |   events   | QCM policy   |   registration  |   payment options   |   FAQs   |   contact us