Queen's University

Bryn Blackwood: E-Gré Competition Winner Solo Piano Recital



Thursday, October 17th, 2019

Location Marker


Isabel Rehearsal Hall

Ticket Price


E-Gré Competition Winner Solo Piano Recital


As the winner of the highly prestigious 42nd Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music, Bryn Blackwood is ecstatic to be bringing a recital of solo piano music to audiences across Canada in the Fall of 2019! His recital includes music by Canadian composers Jean Coulthard, Brian Current, Jacques Hetu and Alexina Louie as well as modern masterworks by Samuel Barber, George Crumb, Leo Ormstein and Toru Takemitsu.

Bryn Blackwood is active as a solo and collaborative pianist in Toronto, Ontario, and has always been extremely passionate about modern piano music. Reveiving his Bachelor of Music degree from Western University, studying with James Hibbard, and Master of Music degree from McGill University, studying with Dr. Ilya Poletaev. Winnerof Western University’s Fred Pattison Piano Competition, he was also a two-time finalist in McGill University’s Chamber Music Competition. More recently, Bryn was a finalist and winner of the Paul J. Bourret Memorial Award for Best Performance of the Test Piece at the 2018 Shean Piano Competition, and the winner of the 2019 UofT Faculty of Music DMA Recital Competition. A recipient of a Joseph-Armand Bombardier SSHRC award for his studies of the Russian-American piano composer Leo Ornstein, he is currently studying with Marietta Orlov at the University of Toronto, working towards a Doctorate of Musical Arts.

The E-Gré Competition acknowledges the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, which last year invested $153 million to bring the arts to Canadians throughout the country. The 2020 Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition is open to vocalists (See http://e-gre.ca for details.) The first-place winner will receive a cash prize of $8,000 and a Canadian tour (recital fees approximately $5,000).

What's Coming Up?